Genius: Aretha (2020)

Director: Anthony Hemingway

Writer(s): Suzan-Lori Parks

Starring: David Cross, Courtney B. Vance, Cynthia Erivo, T.I., Malcolm Barrett, Amanda Warren, Antonique Smith, Marque Richardson, Omar J. Dorsey, Kimberly Hebert Gregory, Sanai Victoria, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Angel Nair, Todd Allen Durkin, Stacey Sargeant, Aubriana Davis, Damian Tanenbaum, Christina D. Miller, Braelyn Rankins, Patrice Covington, Kimberly Newsome, Drake Strickland, Beorht Ayisi, Ryan Anthony Williams, Justin Livingston, Tina Fears, Jp Lambert, Challedon Saltor, Anthony M. Walker, Donja Harper, Michael Burton, Shaian Jordan, Arle Michel, Chandra Lynn Alexander, Linda Hooks, Roy Luke

Synopsis: Part of the NatGeo Genius series. The anthology series will explore Franklin’s musical genius, incomparable career and the immeasurable impact and lasting influence she had around the world and will feature many of Franklin’s biggest recordings and hit songs from the comprehensive Warner Music catalog including “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You),” “Chain of Fools,” “Don’t Play That Song,” “Since You’ve Been Gone” and “Baby I Love You.” In addition, the series will feature Franklin’s performances of “I Knew You Were Waiting for Me,” “Freeway of Love” and “Sisters Are Doin’ It for Themselves.”

Release Date: Unknown | Length: 43 min | Genre: Biography, History, Music | MPAA Rating: TV-14

Note: Suzan-Lori Parks is an executive producer and showrunner on this project. Filming set to begin in November 2019. This event missed its May 25, 2020 release date and is set to premiere sometime in the fall. Production was halted because of the shutdown. Production has resumed, but still no new release date.