Monster (2018)

Drama, General Film

Director: Anthony Mandler

Writer(s): Walter Dean Myers (book), Colen C. Wiley, Janece Shaffer

Starring: Jennifer Ehle, John David Washington, Mikey Madison, Jeffrey Wright, Jharrel Jerome, Tim Blake Nelson, Lovie Simone, Jennifer Hudson, Paul Ben-Victor, Kelvin Harrison Jr., Jonny Coyne, Adriana DeGirolami, Dorian Missick, Alejandro Hernandez, ASAP Rocky, Nas, Willie C. Carpenter, John Cashin, Akintola Jiboyewa, Danny Henriquez, Kelvin Hale, Jeremy Dash, Milanee Gordon, Liam Obergfoll, Nyleek Moore, Teresa Avia Lim, Rege Lewis, Amanda Crown, Mitch Roberson, Roberto Lopez, Joel Van Liew, Marc Blagowidow, Kevin Alexis Rivera, Keet Davis, June Ballinger, Geisha Otero, Jackson Francis Greene, Keven Andres Almanzar, Scott Micca, Rylee Gabrielle King, Vincent Veloso

Synopsis: Based on the award winning novel by Walter Dean Myers, the film tells the story of Steve Harmon, a 17 yr old honors student and aspiring filmmaker who gets caught up in a robbery where a murder happens. The film follows his dramatic journey through a complex legal battle for his fight to prove his innocence. READ REVIEW

Release Date: September 27, 2019 (USA) | Length: 98 min | Genre: Drama | MPAA Rating: Rated R for language throughout, some violence and bloody images.

Note: Produced/Executive Produced by John Legend, Nas and Tonya Lewis Lee. Premiered at the Sundance Film Festival on January 22, 2018. Above is the theatrical release date. Title changed from “Monster” to “All Rise” then back to “Monster”. Premiered on Netflix on May 7, 2021 and received an official trailer.